Raf Simons, Supreme, Virgil Abloh and Mansur Gavriel Among 2018 CFDA Fashion Awards Nominees | News & Analysis, News Bites

NEW YORK, United States — Instead of its usual announcement cocktail party for the industry, the Council of Fashion Designers of America turned to Instagram this year. The council revealed the nominees and honourees for the 2018 CFDA Awards, set to take place on June 4 at the Brooklyn Museum, with a selection of videos featuring models Candice Huffine and Martha Hunt, rapper Young Paris, and designers Todd Snyder, Irene Neuwirth, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia produced by Condé Nast.

The 2018 ceremony will take place at a new venue for the second time since the awards left Lincoln Center after a seven-year run. Since heading to the Hammerstein Ballroom in 2016, the CFDA has raised its ambitions for the event, presenting a larger and more elaborate production, inspired by traditional Hollywood awards shows and complete with A-list stars and guests from beyond the industry. Last year, during the emotional height of the evening, Cecile Richards, Gloria Steinem and Janelle Monáe were honoured with the Board of Directors’ Tribute for preserving and defending the rights of women.

This year in Brooklyn, the awards will be hosted by Issa Rae, the creator of HBO’s critically acclaimed television show Insecure. Several of the new categories introduced last year will be repeated: a single Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, which offers financial support and mentorship to young designers across menswear, womenswear and accessories; and the Swarovski Award for Positive Change, which will be presented to Diane von Furstenberg, the CFDA’s chairman since 2015.

Other announced honourees include Carolina Herrera for the Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert, British Vogue editor-in-chief Edward Enninful for the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard, Narciso Rodriguez for the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award and Donatella Versace for the International Award. More honourees, such as the Fashion Icon Award, may be announced at a later date.

The design winners will be revealed at the ceremony. Nominees include last year’s double honouree for womenswear and menswear designer of the year, Raf Simons, who is once again nominated in both categories for his work at Calvin Klein. Other notable designers in the running across the womenswear, menswear, accessories and emerging talent categories include James Jebbia of Supreme, Virgil Abloh of Off-White, Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Aurora James for Brother Vellies and Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss.

Read on for the full list of 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and recipients.

Womenswear Designer of the Year

Menswear Designer of the Year

  • Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
  • Virgil Abloh for Off-White
  • James Jebbia for Supreme
  • Thom Browne
  • Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent

  • Mike Amiri for Amiri
  • Laura Vassar and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection
  • Aurora James for Brother Vellies
  • Kerby Jean-Raymond for Pyer Moss
  • Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

The Swarovski Award for Positive Change will be presented to Diane von Furstenberg.

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Narciso Rodriguez.

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert will be presented to Carolina Herrera.

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard will be presented to Edward Enninful.

The International Award will be presented to Donatella Versace.

Related Articles:

At the CFDA Awards, a Call to Action



Source link